the pygmies keep dancing

a silly book about silly human business

IIII. o naany noony

on August 29, 2015

Page Fourteen

~~~~~~~~~~~~

after my mind got unstuck from the wheels, I decided to go outside to stretch my brain and my legs. I was walking along in the woods around the caves. there were lots of small slearings hanging around in these woods, and I don’t know who made them or when, but they were very handy sitting places for people who wanted to be alone, like me. If a person didn’t want to camp in a cave (like me), they could camp in one of these clearings.

so, as I was walking along, being alone, I saw another one of these clearings up ahead of me. there was a man in the clearing who was just sort of ambling around fussing with his things. he had little tables, and wee chairs, and even some baby-sized persian rugs. he had his clearing fixed up like a miniature home (a lot like the way I had my cave), and he was mincing around lighting candles and incense that he’d set up on his little lacquer tables. everything he had was copied from very old stuff, ancient kinds of rugs and tables that people had invented in the year dot. I wondered if he had something against now stuff.

I was wondering about all this, when I realized that he was singing a song while he fussed, and that he had a rather nice voice. but to tell the truth, I really couldn’t make any sense of his weird song. not then. This is what he sang:

O naany noony, the human race cries.

O naany noony, the human race sighs.

We have to pay our taxes,

We have to test our food,

We stuff ourselves with Zizas

to make the world look good.

when I got closer to his clearing I was able to get a really good look at the guy. he was a Chinaman. he had very black hair that was braided and hung down a little past his shoulders. very black eyes, too, and smooth goldy skin that kind of glowed. his face was nice, and I thought the rest of him was probably nice too, underneath the fat. he was fat, you see, and that’s really the truthiest way to say it. he was fat. but fat in a very smooth, unjiggly kind of way. the fat was fat, of course, but it was just a little bit pleasant to look at. in fact, there was something a little obscene about it. I was finding myself intrigued by the obscenity of this Chinaman’s fat, the way it sort of quivered with life in a tempting kind of way.

I wanted to get out of there. I had stinking enough important things I needed to be thinking about, and I didn’t need to be going around getting weird feelings about some Chinaman’s fat. he was confusing me in other ways too. what the heck did that song mean? why did he have all these copies of ancient things, and still go fussing around in his clearing wearing a newer thing, a pair of grape-flavored edible undies? I turned around to go back to my cave.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

read…   Lifelines…      All my stars

Share  ~~~~~~~~  website  outline

 

a href=”http://twitter.com/share” data-count=”none” data-via=”annegrace2″ data-related=”ziidjian:outre tweeting”>Tweet</a><script type=”text/javascript” src=”http://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js”></script

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

all photos, graphics, poems and text copyright 2012-2015 by anne nakis, unless otherwise stated. all rights reserved.


3 responses to “IIII. o naany noony

  1. janicemitt says:

    O naany noony…..a new page I sing!!!

Leave a comment